Widen the new WordPress.com editor

WordPress.com has yet again changed the default editor, upsetting many users.

The new editor

The new editor.

I use my redirect script to get back to the classic core editor (the best editor) instead of using the new one, but I figured I might as well make the new one more useful for anyone who wants to use it.

The major complaints about the new editor are the lack of spell checking, the lack of word count display, the lack of the HTML toolbar, the lack of an interface to link to previous posts, …. If you haven’t picked up on it yet, the new editor is lacking a lot of functionality that the previous two editors had. The easiest one to address, and the one I decided to tackle, was the lack of space. The sidebar takes up a lot of space, leaving less room for the editor itself. I decided to take an approach similar to how I improved the new stats page and came up with this:

The sidebar is hidden behind the editor to make more room

The sidebar is hidden behind the editor to make more room.

Just like in the stats page style sheet, hovering over the visible portion of the sidebar lets you access the contents of the sidebar.

WordPress.com new editor with Wide Editor mod (hover)

Hover over the sidebar to access it.

It currently does not expand the editor past the normal boundaries to fill the screen completely, but if there is sufficient demand for it, I can make the change.

To install this user style, get Stylish (Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera) or a similar add-on if you don’t already have it, then head over to the style’s page at userstyles.org to install it.

Happy blogging!

13 comments
    • It still hides for me. Make sure Stylish and the stylesheet is enabled, or if you installed it as a script, that the script is enabled. If that doesn’t solve it, you can try reinstalling the stylesheet/script.
      Let me know what happens.

      • Thanks, Penguin.

        I didn’t disable it. I installed it again. Maybe I need to restart Firefox?

      • You shouldn’t have to, but it wouldn’t hurt. Could you please send me the editor’s source code (press Ctrl+U) through the private comment form? The way I find the message is fragile and it might be hiding the wrong thing.

      • OK, sent the source code to you from the classic editor. Hope it’s the right thing that I sent to you.

      • Unfortunately, it looks like you sent me the code for the login page, but it also looks like sending it through the comment form won’t do any good because WordPress stripped all the HTML.

        I also just remembered that I’m using it as a stylesheet in Stylish instead of as a script in Greasemonkey. I’m going to have to continue troubleshooting another time because it’s time for me to sleep, but if you want a quick fix, install Stylish and install the script as a stylesheet instead.

      • I did reboot the computer and restarted Firefox. The Hide Link statement is still there on new posts and old ones, too.

      • I decided to take a second look at the editor code and it looks like they’ve made it easier to select it. I’ve just updated the stylesheet. You’ll have to delete the old stylesheet/script and reinstall it.

      • Thank you so much again, Penguin. You’re the best. Sorry to keep you up so late, too.

      • Don’t worry about it. I’m happy to help, and it made the stylesheet that much better.

      • Very good to hear. :) Thanks again. Will try the stylesheet now.

  1. OK, have Stylish installed and used the script available, and it’s working again! Yeah! Thanks again so much for helping me out.

    Firefox is not working for me at the moment for the WP classic editor. I just upgraded to the latest version and it still isn’t working properly. I have no idea what’s going on. Can’t click on anything, the Text link, adding a link, the scrolling is not working, Copy A Post isn’t working, etc. I put in a Support question on the WP Forums and will have to wait for a response from them.

    • Figured out what was going wrong with Firefox and now it works again. Yeah!

`$name' says...

