Archive

Daily Archives: 2013-04-02

I was playing around with mapping network locations (network drives and whatnot) on Windows without a network (as if that was productive). When adding a network location, Windows places a shortcut to the location in the My Computer screen. When I was done, I deleted the shortcuts that Windows created through the context (right-click) menu on the My Computer screen. The standard “Are you sure you want to move this file to the Recycle Bin?” dialog appeared. That’s when I thought of it: if the shortcuts were moved to the Recycle Bin, that means that they must have existed in the filesystem, and that means that I might just be able to customize the My Computer screen!

imageres_1021-256

C:\Windows\System32\imageres.dll,-1021


But how? →